My thoughts toward Japan have been changing a lot over the past year. I used to not care at all about this country. It sounded cold and boring, uninteresting and weird. Because when I consider a vacation or visiting a country, I always think about beaches, beaches, beaches. Hot weather. Hawaii, Brazil, the Caribbean.

Then I found out about how there are less than 2% Christians in Japan, and the statistic made my heart break. I began to care about and pray for this country. I began to consider than I might want to help reach the Japanese for Christ, but it was more of a whim than anything else. It wasn’t necessarily something I was really serious about.

Danielle told me that she thought I should STINT in Japan for two years, and I thought she was crazy. Me? In Japan? I don’t even care about the country. I care about the Gospel reaching people, but as far as what the city is like and what the country offers, I don’t really care.

But this past weekend, I think I finally began to consider what it must be like to be Japanese and to be so surrounded by a culture that has not been influenced by Christian ideals and principles.

I began to consider the personalities, the souls, the mental health. What must it be like to not know what grace is?

His grace heals people.

But then I was told by another friend that the atmosphere in Japan can be described as “supernatural apathy”. Things feel happy-go-lucky, and that everything is fine.

What a complete lie straight from the pit of hell.

These people are bound by and blinded by satan. I began to realize that my efforts may not even be appreciated in the very least. If these people really are so uncaring and unwanting of the Gospel, then why should I go? God is not glorified in the slightest here, He is forgotten.

Romans 1:21-25
For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools, and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man and birds and animals and creeping things.

Therefore God gave them up in the lusts of their hearts to impurity, to the dishonoring of their bodies among themselves, because they exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever! Amen.

Whereas a few hours ago I was completely moved by grace and mercy and compassion, now I am feeling some apathy and hopelessness. God is just, and if things are the way they are, it is because God has given them over to be ruled by their lusts. I’ve gotta believe that God has grace for Japan, and that if I am supposed to go, that I will be equipped and ready.

I’ll eventually make a new blog that will be exclusively where I write my thoughts, prayer requests, etc. all throughout support raising, the mission trip, and my thoughts after the trip. I think it’ll be called graceforjapan or something along those lines.

I haven’t been accepted to go to Japan, yet, but I hope that I will be able to go.

Prayer requests:

  • that God will help me sleep well and protect me from nightmares and spiritual attacks
  • hope
  • faith that He will help me and hold me
  • allowing Him to be lord of my entire life, soul, everything… more so than I already allow Him to be

And if this is war, then I’m gonna draw my sword. This time I know what I’m fighting for.

4 thoughts on “Japan

  1. by the way, there are a lot of good books out there for fund raising. One is called “Friend Raising” YWAM press. “The Support Raising Handbook” is great, not sure it is still in print. They helped me become a full time missionary to China for more than ten years.

  2. I will be praying for your peace at night. One thing that really helped me was to play MP3 of the Bible all night long. It did wonders for my mood and so i wouldn’t wake up during the night worried and fretting. Hope it works for u too
    love, Brad

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

