I heard many months ago (from people that I really admire and respect) that the ideal Christian is these three– reformed, charismatic, evangelical.

Stereotypically, and I mean no disrespect, but reformed Christians are unemotional and not fun. A stereotypical charismatic does not know the Bible well and is too focused on the Holy Spirit and spiritual warfare. Evangelicals stereotypically do not know a ton about the Old Testament and are too focused on the Gospel and salvation.

Maybe this is just me, but I think I’ve been striving to be well balanced. I want to be balanced. Balance is good. And the Christian friends I have that if I see that they are super reformed or super charismatic, I like to reach out and love them by helping bring balance into their life. I care, and I hope others can do the same for me.

I’ve been told that I am more charismatic than any of the others, and not going to lie, that frustrated me. I want to be seen as balanced and someone that’s reliable and someone to go to for advice. I want to be seen as someone who is trustworthy. That my opinions matter and stuff. That I’m biblically sound.

But I am Hispanic, and I think there are millions and millions of Hispanics that are just drawn to charismatic circles. Upon becoming Christian, I was immediately drawn to livelier worship. BUT, I have rejected the prosperity gospel and I believe in healing, but I don’t expect healing to occur 100% of the time. And I have heard stories about tongues, I’ve heard some crazy stuff, and I’m not too sure what I think about tongues. Last year, I was 100% confident that every single Christian who prays in tongues, that it’s either the Holy Spirit, or that they’re speaking gibberish and it’s all emotions. But then I heard something that caught my attention and has made me step back and be a little more wary of tongues.

Lord Jesus, if I had known about the absolute ecstasy and agony that is the Christian life, I would have signed up years ago.

2 thoughts on “Reformed, Charismatic, Evangelical

  1. TRUST the Lord to show you what He has and He will. Ask Him to open your eyes to His mysteries and He will. Yes, there is some shams in the world of Christianity just like elsewhere but I can assure you that the Holy Spirit who resides in you will tell you and guide you. Just hold on to Him. Yes, the film flam men/women exist and the phoniness is real and happening more and more. Yet, if you ask Him to show you He will. I have seen both the real and the phony, and I have also experienced the authentic hand of God move mightily in my life. Ask God to reveal Himself to you in all 3 persons and to show you what He wants you to be. Do not deny the Lord where He may desire to take you.

    1. Thank you so much for your encouraging words! I really do find myself worrying more than I should, but I just really desire to stay awake and able to discern well.

      But thank you for your uplifting words!

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

