Romans 1:8-13
First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you, because your faith is proclaimed in all the world.  For God is my witness, whom I serve with my spirit in the gospel of his Son, that without ceasing I mention you always in my prayers, asking that somehow by God’s will I may now at last succeed in coming to you.  For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you—  that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine.  I do not want you to be unaware, brothers, that I have often intended to come to you (but thus far have been prevented), in order that I may reap some harvest among you as well as among the rest of the Gentiles.

Like Paul, I have my own thorn(s) in the flesh (homework, insecurities, YouTube, lame arguments/opinions/thoughts that I shouldn’t heed, no car, fatigue) that legitimately keep me from getting to see my friends and brothers and sisters in Christ. Whether these people be in Houston, Austin, California, or across campus– I don’t get to see everybody that I want to see exactly when I want to see them.

Some of these people aren’t Christian, some are Catholic or Christian but are so incredibly tied down, bound, and distracted and aren’t doing anything for the Kingdom– they aren’t contending for their faith, they’re neglecting their salvation.

Hebrews 2:1-4
Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.  For since the message declared by angels proved to be reliable, and every transgression or disobedience received a just retribution, how shall we escape if we neglect such a great salvation?  It was declared at first by the Lord, and it was attested to us by those who heard, while God also bore witness by signs and wonders and various miracles and by gifts of the Holy Spirit distributed according to his will.

I kind of understand what God means here… He wants us to be around godly men and women, He wants us to be a light, He wants us to seek first the Kingdom, He wants us to come to Him to be watered and restored and sent back out to serve Him and stuff. He doesn’t want us to stop going to church, to get lazy about reading the Bible, to be still, to fall back into sin that once controlled us. Being a Christian means fighting and thrashing about, fighting against the current… It doesn’t mean standing still and letting the current take you wherever. Being a Christian does not mean standing still in a pond that’s filled with leeches and not fighting them off. We gotta make a scene, splash around, save others from the leeches, enjoy the water.

I know I’m prone to feel guilt, which is not from God, and I think I’ve gotten better at not feeling it as often as I used to.

Something I do struggle with is feeling that I am ruining my witness by not being able to hang out as often as I would like to with Tony and Estefania. God I love them so much, I really want them to love Christ too.

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

