I got annoyed when I saw a Facebook post that someone from back home wrote, “It took seven days to make the earth and nine months to make me. Clearly I’m a big deal.”

I know we’re supposed to be gentle and mild, loving, but inside, I was thinking “Are you kidding me? Why are you being such a fool? You need to repent and fall on your face, God spared your life less than a week ago, your car is totaled, and here you are exalting yourself?”

Things started to work better for me once I started to make much of Him and exalt Him. Humility really is the way to go. And I know I have a long way to go until I behave the way I ought to, but for now I need to be patient with this boy and with this other one that goes to my church that recently got baptized and still acts so foolishly. I wonder if he truly did repent of his sins that have angered the LORD. I’ve been wondering ever since I saw Facebook posts of his that were really dumb, that I’ve been seeing for weeks now, and when a friend mentioned on Saturday night that this person still seems to be unrepentant and is still doing ungodly things, I felt like crying, wondering if that baptism meant anything. I hate doing things that ruin my witness, I try to life a life where I’m constantly yielding to the Spirit, I hardly ever do big sins that I leave unconfessed for very long.

I really do wonder how often am I supposed to keep silent and kind, and how often I should rebuke and hit people with truth. I currently have three people I wish I could take aside and correct, point out things I’ve noticed that grieve the Holy Spirit and anger God and hinder the Kingdom. I know I’m not perfect, and so I wonder if in taking these people aside, they will spitefully point out things that I’m weak in. But the way I see it, I’m not pointing out a speck while having a plank in my eye. I do aim for holiness, He has shown me multiple times in very loud ways just how consecrated He wants me to be.

We urge you, brethren, admonish the unruly, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with everyone. (1 Thessalonians 5:14)

…let him know that whoever brings back a sinner from his wandering will save his soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins. (James 5:20)

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

