Seriously? Is this statement supposed to scare me into turning into a Catholic?

(Yes this blog post is probably a little offensive, and I might even offend everybody, Catholics and Protestants, but I think it’s only offensive if the whole thing isn’t read. And this is probably part 1 of my rant, I don’t think I’m done venting about this subject.)

I’m so annoyed by the amount of people lately, that have made me feel like I’m some sort of heretic or Mormon or Jehovah’s Witness, people that are so proud of being CATHOLIC that their pride results in them forgetting what the greeting of 1 Corinthians says:

1 Corinthians 1:1-2
Paul, called by the will of God to be an apostle of Christ Jesus, and our brother Sosthenes, To the church of God that is in Corinth, to those sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be saints together with all those who in every place call upon the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, both their Lord and ours

This letter is addressed to those who in every place call upon the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Yes I’m not Catholic, and no I don’t feel like going back. And yes, I can respectfully disagree with Catholic brethren, and no I will not proudly hold onto the fact that I’m… kind of… Reformed, I won’t let that overshadow the fact that in Christ there is unity. And I have Catholic brothers and sisters that I deeply respect and admire.

But back to the matter at hand.

You’re a servant of Christ before you’re a Catholic. Just as I belong to Jesus before I belong to any denomination or school of thought.

Seriously though. How is it not idolatry to find identity in your denomination first?

This video below is something that I felt was very profound… Yes, there’s weird things that Catholics believe, and yes, the Reformed peeps believe in the crazy doctrine of unconditional election, which is something that I’m still not 100% sure about… 

Some Pentecostals and charismatics are a little weird. Some Presbyterians are so serious. Some evangelicals are scared of the OT. Arminianism is a little weird. 

But truth is a Person, and Jesus is the name that saints in every place call upon.

http://vimeo.com/m/30900548

…I think I succeeded in offending everybody, but YOLO. Because I like having an opinion.

Picture below found at Christian Memes :)

image

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

