Today has been a very interesting day to say the least…

Maybe I’m making a mistake by venting right now on my blog, I’m not exactly in the best mood and I feel like a rain cloud is just hovering over me, I’m basically fuming and definitely feeling bitter, but of course, I’m not forcing anybody to read what I’m writing. And hopefully I don’t offend everybody. And I’m not going to respond to any comments made in response to this post.

Tomorrow will be another day. This anger I have at the moment will pass.

I finally saw the video that talked about the god that was worshiped in China before Confucianism and Buddhism and Taoism came.

I finally better learned about what is going on in the Ukraine.

I have no words. I guess all we can do, those of us that are hundreds and thousands of miles away- is pray and cry out for justice and for things to get better…

And in my sociology of religion class, we talked about Prometheus, Lucifer, and Asherah.

I didn’t know what to say in class, my prof kept talking about how strong and influential men are in the church, that women are seen as profane, that God didn’t really like women, that white people have done all of these things. The Bible has been tampered with. Galileo was threatened by the Catholic Church for doing his thing. And he made fun of Christian schools. And the segregation in the churches in America.

Martin Luther King, Jr. noted that the most segregation was found on Sundays during church. And our textbook said that his observations are just as true today. Most churches are racially segregated.

Some more things my prof said:

  • EVE tempted Adam, SHE is responsible for original sin
  • God just decided to create her out of Adam’s LEFT rib (and the left is traditionally seen as being associated with the profane, the RIGHT is associated with the sacred)
  • God was like “…first I’ll make THE MAN… and now he needs a playmate.”
  • in Mexico, the Virgen de Guadalupe is oh so important… and this further pissed me off, because I don’t know if I like that country and I don’t like the way they do church… he had to bring up Mexico.

Our textbook mentions the “femininization of American religion” and my prof mentioned that in the 19th century, women were more spiritual and noble, but religion was seen as less rational… Women were seen as more religious, and not as rational. They’re more religious, but more stupid.

I mean, I absolutely hate hearing this sort of stuff about females. For so long, I absolutely hated being a girl. They just seem so useless and powerless.

How fun it is to be at college and be Christian and be female and be Hispanic and be from the lower-middle class.

Especially at Texas A&M.

I love this class so much, the professor is so eccentric and interesting, but today he really pissed me off and got me uncomfortable and offended me.

Seriously? Go watch your damn South Park and go be a negative asshole somewhere else. Do what you’re supposed to do, don’t go pissing us off. That’s not your job.

I have enough to think about already. I don’t need you to give me even more to be confused about.

But of course, I can’t just completely ignore what was discussed in class today and in my other sociology class yesterday.

I can’t be like an ostrich with its head in the sand. Because that’ll just make me look and feel ignorant.

I am happy though that I did get to hear Ravi speak this week… he said some things that were very profound.

“Without the absolute of a transcendent there is ultimately no moral law, no point of reference…”

and

“When we forget God, there go the absolutes as well.”

My prof may have angered me greatly, but I’m still Christian. I’m still going to be happy, I’m just going to be upset for a little while.

1 Peter 3:15
…but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect.

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

