I have gotten frustrated with my restlessness at times.

It seems that I’m constantly looking to be entertained and distracted, I seek pleasure, and the purest and best pleasure comes from Him.

How great it is that through Him, we can properly enjoy everything, and everything is suddenly elevated and is infinitely better if done for Him, through Him, with Him, for His glory.

I like the following quote by C.S. Lewis,

…it would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.

I used to think John Piper was crazy for being a “Christian hedonist” but he’s really onto something.

While I am a student, I will be tempted by many things, but I can choose to drink deeply of His presence and try to bring Him glory through my studies and my hobbies. And the joy and satisfaction that comes from being pleased by the correct things at the correct times is incredible.

It’s not bad for me to love tennis, to strive for good doctrine in my mind, to go running, blog, paint, etc.

Jesus, oh You are so wonderful.

My God, You are so real, so good, so kind, so merciful, so generous.

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

