I’m not running some marathon, trying to hurry up and arrive to my significant other.

I’ve already found the greatest and most perfect love that I could ever find, and that comes from my Lord and best friend, Jesus.

Jesus absolutely completes and fulfills me.

I hate that it feels like everywhere I look, singleness is considered “not good enough” and not as good as being in a relationship… And I’m realizing how very happy I am that I can do what I want and when I want.

I really value my freedom.

Below is my personality type, that happens to mention that ENFPs really LOVE them some freedom:

http://www.16personalities.com/enfp-personality

It stinks that I do really love my freedom and I resent feeling tied down, but at the same time I know I want to love and be loved by a significant other.

I talked with my grandma on the phone yesterday, and surprisingly enough she didn’t bother me about my singleness, because for very traditional Mexicans like her, there’s something wrong with you if you take forever to get married or if you don’t get married. But I don’t really blame her for being concerned about all of her single granddaughters, I understand that she is concerned about our happiness and our fulfillment and she wants us to feel safe and financially secure in this big world.

And for her, happiness in marriage > happiness being single.

To her and to many people, singleness is seen as a temporary period inevitably leading up to marriage.

To my grandma, getting married and having kids are just things that have to happen.

I will probably continue blogging about this topic later today, because I’m about to be 23 and I’ve been thinking about relationships a lot lately, even though I try not to. But then again, you can’t really blame me because I feel like a fluke, it feels strange to be this single and I’m Hispanic… I feel like I’m going against the norm, but I’m doing so because I’m not so not settling or chasing, and I’m so incredibly cared for by Jesus.

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

