I’ve been reading The Squatter and the Don for my Latino Literature class, and since I’ve spent hours reading this book, needing to completely immerse myself in it in order to understand what all is going on… I can’t help feeling a pretty intense desire for the lifestyle that the characters in this book have.

One of the women was given the best ring that her fiancee could find at Tiffany’s, and then he found another ring that he liked more, and also bought it. Just like that.

This woman also has an aunt that loves to dote on her and gave her a ton of beautiful dresses and even offered to give her a servant to help her get dressed.

Basically all of the main characters are used to going to fancy balls, and they spend a lot of time around really sophisticated and important people…

I finally caught myself, and reminded myself that I have gotten to experience the sweet presence of my Lord, and I’ve experienced His presence mightily during both good and bad times.

No matter how amazing that society in my book might be, if Jesus isn’t there, I don’t need it or want it.

A heaven without Him is hell.

For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness. (Psalm 84:10)

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

