I felt pleasantly surprised at how my heart changed over the summer, from being fearful and apprehensive, to being willing and eager to teach my kids on Sunday about Jesus.

I never thought I’d be a Sunday School teacher, but here I am, finished with serving The Vail Church for my whole summer.

I learned that not only am I there to give them head knowledge, but I am there to love them and care for them and minister to their hearts and souls.

The following verses are verses that helped me approach my position with the correct heart posture:

…but whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a great millstone fastened around his neck and to be drowned in the depth of the sea. (Matthew 18:6)

Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness. (James 3:1)

To teach the Word is both a great honor and responsibility, and I am glad I finally am not apprehensive about doing it.

I realized this summer that I am very capable and equipped to be a leader at a church; my teammates and I are adults now, and churches need God fearing adults to serve… We can’t assume that are people available to serve in the various capacities in the churches near us.

I love You Jesus.

<3

One thought on “teaching

  1. Bernice, I am so glad that you have experienced such a transformation, and have been able to see several areas of growrh.

    Yes, I believe you will be asked more and more to do things within the church as you grow. The key to being a great leader is of course being a great follower and always ask God to lead all situations irregardless of how big or how small.

    Also remember Jesus was not accepted in His own family.

Leave a reply, question, or prayer request here!

